jump to navigation

Dodgers vs Cubs game August 22, 2009

Posted by emuleman in Thoughts.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Last night my Boss and friend Alan invited me and two others from my work to go enjoy a Dodgers baseball game. He invited me because they were playing the Chicago Cubs, and he knows I am a big fan.

IMG_1585

It had been a while since I was at a baseball game, and it certain was fun. The hot dogs seem to taste better at a baseball stadium, and the beer does also.

IMG_1583

It was unfortunate that my favorite team lost, but it was still quite enjoyable to get to the ballpark and relax.  The Dodgers are doing quite well this year, and the place was definitely packed with fans.

IMG_1587

I just heard that the Chicago Cubs were sold earlier today, for only $845 million.  It was purchased by the Ricketts family, who founded the online brokerage TD Ameritrade Holding Corp.  Joe Rickett is a die-hard Cubs fan who grew up watching the team, once lived in an apartment across the street from Wrigley and first met his wife in the stands at a game there.

IMG_1584

“My family and I are Cubs fans,” said Tom Ricketts, the family’s point person in the Cubs purchase. “We share the goal of Cubs fans everywhere to win a World Series and build the consistent championship tradition that the fans deserve.”

So this might be a good thing for the Cubs, and most fans are hoping this new ownership might be just what the Cubs need.  It is rumored that the family is willing to invest some money into the team, Wrigley Field, and also the players which might eventually mean the Cubs might actually make it to a World Series.  I certainly would like to see the Cubs win a World Series sometime in my lifetime.

Thanks again to Alan for inviting me to the game.  I really had a great time.

Comments»

1. Gigi and Dad - August 22, 2009

Hi Erik ;

Glad you had fun, Alan was nice to invite you. yes, the Cubs are sliding right now, the Cubs are the Cubs.

Dad

Donn - August 24, 2009

I still need a backhoe and a pitchfork! OZZY! Hey, y’all: my classroom’s (school’s) e-mail address is below. Later.


Leave a Reply

