jump to navigation

Missing Monica & Kyle July 17, 2008

Posted by emuleman in Family.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Many of you already know that I have been all alone this week.  Monica and Kyle left Monday 7/14/2008 for a week of fun and relaxation with her Grandparents to Calvary Chapel Conference Center up in the local mountains in Lake Arrowhead.   Lake Arrowhead is just a couple hours away from where we live, but it feels like a different world when you go there.  Both Monica and I love to go up and visit a few times a year.  It is nice to escape the concrete jungle of the big city and get up in the pine trees and fresh air.

I have to admit I did not think this out completely when Monica asked me if it was alright for her to take her yearly trip with her Grandparents this year.  Last year when she went she was pregnant and it was nice for her to get away.  We both rarely are separated from each other.  But it is nice to get some away time from each other once in a while.  I am always reminded of the old expression that absence makes the heart grow fonder.  It is true that when someone you care for is away, you miss that person and think about them often, and that feeling makes you want to be with them even more.

So I always welcomed the opportunity when Monica got the chance to go away for a few days.  What I did not realize was how much I would miss my son, Kyle.  This is the first time I have been separated from him since his birth.  It is funny how you complain about lack of sleep at night when he is fussy, or how you never seem to get any alone time because you are constantly taking care and watching your child.  You quickly forget these mild irritations when you realize that they are gone.

Downtown Lake Arrowhead

At first I found myself kinda excited thinking about a whole week alone.  Now I could play my favorite game on the computer, watch what ever I wanted on the television, and not have Monica  upset with me.  This excitement has now completely disappeared as I finally realize how much I miss my family.  Not being able to see his little face in the morning and hearing him laugh as I sing a silly song to him has really made me sad.  I now find myself anxiously counting down the days till they both return this Saturday.

So I guess the trip was beneficial for both Monica and I.  Monica is a country girl at heart, and always prefers the outdoors and wilderness as compared to the city.  Monica got a much needed escape with her Grandparents and a change of environment for a while.  I on the other hand got a reality check to realize how much I love my wife and son.

So I guess it is true when they say absence makes the heart grow fonder.  I can tell you first hand it definitely does!


Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

